Known from


Do you want to support us in creating this sustainable solution?

WATER


Water covers most of the Earth’s surface and makes up about 60 % of the human body. Water is not only the foundation of a healthy lifestyle but also vital and essential for human life. Therefore, the United Nations recognized the access to clean drinking water as a human right.

While access to clean drinking water is obvious in Germany and you can find the next water tap just around the corner, according to WHO, there are 844 million people worldwide who do not have access to safe drinking water. Many diseases are caused by contaminated water. For example, in the Kigoma region, Tanzania, cholera outbreaks are still present, as a result of unclean water. According to UNICEF, 4.000 people die every day from the effects of contaminated water. Thus, the human right to clean drinking water is still not guaranteed in many parts of the world.

In addition to physical suffering, negative side effects such as failure in school or in professional life also occur and affect people. More than that, many treatments are very costly and can bring affected people in financial trouble.

To change this, 12 students launched in 2014 the project Waterfilter as a part of Enactus Munich. Their aim is to empower people to take entrepreneurial action and allow them access to safe drinking water.

FAST FACTS


Successful pilot project
 in Kigoma, Tanzania

Certified filter performance of
over 99 % water purity

Two secure jobs created

35 people sponsored water filters

Over 150 water filters sold

1.240 pupils have access to safe drinking water thanks to our water filters

OUR SOLUTION


Water can get rid of microbial contamination with filters that are comprised of local resources. These water filters are produced on site by our so-called “Waterpreneurs“ and sold in special shops at a fair price.

Our pilot project is currently running in Kigoma (Tanzania), where we have set up our production facility including all-important machinery. Providing clean drinking water for the local population is related to the infrastructure of the facility and standardized production, which belong to our concept. 

Get to know us


THE WATER FILTER: EFFECTIVE, HIGH-QUALITY & ORGANIC


Complex problems are often solved with easy, but rational concepts. Our Waterfilter consists of only four materials: clay, sawdust, water and silver nitrate. These resources can be obtained anyplace in the world and therefore the filter can be produced and used independently of its location.

A manual filter press is responsible for the manufacturing and high-quality production of our filters. Burning at high temperatures is indispensable for the functionality, as the organic material is burned and leaves micropores. Through these micropores, the water is filtrated and freed of all contamination. A thin layer of silver nitrate is put on the filters after the burning; this step ensures the killing of bacteria, which can even in small amounts cause big health damages. However, the silver nitrate does not reach the cleaned water during the filtration and is demonstrably harmless for the human organism.

To guarantee the high Quality of our water filters, the efficiency was verified multiple times and the purity degree of the filtrated water with more than 99 % certified by the local water ministry.

IMPACT ON VARIOUS LEVELS


CREATING JOBS

Our employees, so-called Waterpreneurs, are being trained to produce and sell the filters in their local community and city. Besides the production and distribution of filters, they are responsible for quality management and educational work in schools as well as the maintenance of machines and equipment. In line with the “Train-the-trainer-Concept”, we are providing promising career perspectives for our employees and creating new jobs over time.

RAISING AWARENESS

Even though the consequences of the consumption of contaminated water seem obvious and often result in illness, there is still a big part of the population which is not aware of the danger of drinking impure water. Therefore, the educational work is a crucial part of our project. Starting with the youngest generation, we are trying to create awareness in schools, by giving talks or distributing our booklet to the children. Furthermore, several water filters were donated to schools, so the children could experience the difference firsthand and transfer their knowledge to their families. In addition, our Waterpreneurs are spreading the word in state institutions, looking for potential cooperations with the government.

SCHOOL PROJECTS

With the help of a fundraising campaign which we started in December 2018 in Germany, we generated money for filter sponsorships in Tanzania. We were able to provide safe drinking water for 1.200 school children. But the water filter is not just given to the schools. Our Waterpreneurs also give workshops at the schools, to teach them the knowledge on how to use and clean the filter and also how the filter works. We want to thank everyone who donated a WATERFILTER very much!

Our vision is to empower people to provide access to safe drinking water for others and themselves by taking entrepreneurial action.

STRONG PARTNERSHIPS


Through our network consisting of various NGOs, most notably MIBOS, we engage in discussions and receive feedback, fostering the success of our project. We have gained an in-depth understanding of regional structures. Leveraging opportunities from these particular environments is key for us in our mission to enable entrepreneurial action and provide access to clean and safe water.
 


OUR FUTURE VISION


Our pilot project serves as a blueprint for future locations. We aim to establish additional Waterfilter shops in Tanzania, to increase our reach whereby more people have the opportunity to access clean and safe water. Building on the experience of the set up of previous Waterfilter shops, we also develop best-practice approaches. This will allow us to establish future shops in an even shorter time period while also sharing our learnings and insights with others who work on similar projects in other countries. Thus, making a contribution to global effort to provide safe water for everyone.

Let’s help together now!


OUR BUSINESS MODEL


In order to ensure sustainable value creation in the long-term, it is essential that our project is economically viable. Our Waterfilter shop is break-even when selling more than 30 filters per month. These sales provide enough revenue to pay a midrange salary to two Waterpreneurs as well as allowing to built some financial reserves for maintenance and unexpected expenditures. Besides the education of the local population about the risks of unsafe and contaminated water, the long-term contact with our customers is important to generate these sales. Indeed, satisfied customers can act as multiplicators as well as may repurchase a water filter once the two-years, during which we can guarantee that the filters work effectively, have passed.


A SIMPLE CALCULATION


A simple calculation Who does not own a water filter, has to spend more money and use techniques which use more resources. One example would be to boil the water. Doing this over a period of two years entails costs up to 1.095.000 TZS. Compared to using a water filter, whose acquisition cost is only 60.000 TZS, a family would save 95 %. Is a water filter in use for two years, the filter costs annualised only 1 € per month.


INSTALLMENT PAYMENT MODEL


To make sure that the price is not an obstacle for excess to safe drinking water, our Waterpreneurs are offering an instalment payment model. Costumers can pay the filter over a period of 3-6 months. To reduce the risk for the Waterpreneure we cooperate with local banks like VICOBA and SACCOs, which offer microloans for concerned people. Furthermore, it is possible that the employer, like schools, guarantee for the instalment payment.


THE LOCATION


The first shop opened in 2015 in Kigoma, Tanzania. Kigoma is a city with about 150.000 inhabitants and is next to the Tanganyika lake.

Many people there suffer from the consequences of contaminated water. They have problems with diarrhoea, typhus or even deadly cholera. Most people get their water from one water source, which is completely overcrowded. With the help of 20-litre buckets, they carry the water back their home. There is often a time lapse before water is used. This is the perfect time and conditions for bacteria to multiply. Using our filter shortly before drinking the water you can filter out all the bacteria – the water is clear and safe to use. 

On the premises of the organisation MIBOS the filters get produced by our Waterpreneurs. The Waterfilter Team from Germany had set up a water filter production with all the necessary machines. For example, they build a kiln with bricks and clay. In this kiln, it is possible to burn 80 filters at once.

Next to the production site is the Waterfilter shop, where it is possible to purchase a water filter.  

Who we are


OUR TEAM

We are a team of committed Munich students with different fields of study. Our goal is to help people live a better life through a sustainable, entrepreneurial approach and thus improve the world in the long run.

Our supporting sponsors


 Ulrich Habel

Bekannt aus


Du willst nachhaltig unterstützen? 

WASSER


Wasser bedeckt nicht nur einen Großteil der Erdoberfläche, sondern macht auch 60 % des menschlichen Körpers aus. Es bildet nicht nur die Grundlage für ein gesundes Leben, sondern ist für den Menschen lebensnotwenig. Daher wurde das Recht auf den Zugang zu sicherem Trinkwasser und Sanitärversorgung von den Vereinten Nationen als Menschenrecht anerkannt.

Während in Deutschland der Zugang zu sauberem Trinkwasser selbstverständlich ist und der nächste Wasserhahn meist nicht weit entfernt ist, haben laut WHO 844 Millionen Menschen auf der Welt keinen Zugang zu sauberem Trinkwasser. Viele Krankheiten werden durch verschmutztes Wasser verursacht. So kommt es in der Region Kigoma, Tansania, noch immer zu Cholera Ausbrüchen, die auf verunreinigtes Trinkwasser zurückzuführen sind. Täglich sterben laut UNICEF weltweit 4.000 Menschen an den Folgen von verunreinigtem Wasser; das Menschenrecht auf eine sichere Versorgung ist in vielen Teilen der Welt weiterhin nicht gewährleistet.

Neben dem körperlichen Leiden treten als negative Begleiterscheinungen Ausfälle in der Schule oder dem Berufsleben auf. Zudem sind viele Behandlungsmethoden sehr kostspielig und können die Betroffenen in finanzielle Notlagen bringen.

Um dies zu ändern, haben 12 Studenten 2013 das Projekt Waterfilter als Teil von Enactus München ins Leben gerufen und sich das Ziel gesetzt, Menschen durch unternehmerisches Handeln dazu zu befähigen den Zugang zu sauberem Trinkwasser für sich und andere sicherzustellen. 

FAST FACTS


Erfolgreiches Pilotprojekt in Kigoma, Tansania

Zertifizierte Filterleistung von über 99 % Wasserreinheit

Schaffung von zwei sicheren Arbeitsplätzen

35 Personen sind Filterpate

Über 150 Wasserfilter wurden verkauft

Mehr als 1.240 Schulkinder haben durch unseren Wasserfilter gesicherten Zugang zu sauberem Trinkwasser

UNSERE LÖSUNG


Wasser lässt sich mit einem Wasserfilter aus lokalen Ressourcen von mikrobieller Kontamination befreien. Dieser Wasserfilter wird vor Ort von unseren Waterpreneuren hergestellt und anschließend in Waterfilter Shops zu einem fairen Preis verkauft.

Unser Pilotprojekt läuft derzeit in Kigoma, Tansania. Hier wurde eine Filterproduktionsstätte mit allen notwendigen Maschinen und einer sinnvollen Infrastruktur aufgebaut, sodass dort inzwischen eine standardisierte Produktion stattfindet und die lokale Bevölkerung durch unseren Wasserfilter mit sauberem Trinkwasser versorgt wird.  

Lerne uns kennen


DER WASSERFILTER


Oft reichen einfache Konzepte aus, um ein komplexes Problem zu lösen. Um einen Wasserfilter zu produzieren, werden grundsätzlich nur vier Materialien benötigt: Lehm, Sägespäne, Wasser und Silbernitrat. Der Vorteil besteht darin, dass diese Ressourcen überall auf der Welt lokal bezogen werden können und der Filter somit standortunabhängig produziert und eingesetzt werden kann.

Um die konstante Qualität der Filterproduktion sicherzustellen, wird der von uns eingesetzte Wasserfilter mit einer manuellen Filterpresse gepresst. Der essenzielle Schritt für die Funktionsweise des Filters ist das Brennen bei hohen Temperaturen, bei dem das organische Material verbrennt und somit Mikroporen im Ton hinterlässt. Durch diese Mikroporen wird das Wasser dann filtriert und von allen Kontaminationen befreit. Um sicherzustellen, dass insbesondere Bakterien, die bereits in kleinsten Mengen große gesundheitliche Schäden verursachen können, zuvor abgetötet werden, wird nach dem Brennen eine dünne Schicht aus Silbernitrat auf den Wasserfilter aufgetragen. Das Silbernitrat gelangt durch die Filtration jedoch nicht in das gesäuberte Wasser und ist für den menschlichen Organismus nachweislich ungefährlich.

Um die hohe Qualität des Wasserfilters zu garantieren, wurde die Wirkungsweise bereits mehrfach getestet und eine Reinheit des filtrierten Wassers von über 99 % vom lokalen Wasserministerium zertifiziert.        

NUTZEN MAL 3


ARBEITSPLÄTZE

Unsere Mitarbeiter, die sogenannten Waterpreneure, werden darin ausgebildet, die Filterproduktionsstätte eigenständig zu betreiben und die Wasserfilter vor Ort zu vertreiben. Zu ihrem Aufgabenbereich gehört auch die Qualitätssicherung, samt Wartung der Filter und Maschinen sowie die wichtige Aufklärungsarbeit in der Bevölkerung. Auf dem Train-the-trainer-concept aufbauend werden so wirtschaftliche Perspektiven und Raum für mehr Beschäftigung geschaffen.

aufklärung

Auch wenn die Konsequenzen des Konsums von unsauberem Wasser offensichtlich und für die Menschen oft spürbar sind, ist die Aufklärungsarbeit beginnend bei den Jüngsten der Gesellschaft in Schulen ein wichtiger Bestandteil unseres Projekts. Das von den Schulkindern erworbene Wissen wird auch an Familienmitglieder und Freunde weitergegeben, sodass auch hier ein Wissenstransfer erfolgt. Zusätzlich informieren die Waterpreneure in öffentlichen Einrichtungen über die Vorteile des Wasserfilters.

SCHULPROJEKTE

Im Dezember 2018 wurde mit Hilfe einer Fundraising-Kampagne in Deutschland Spenden für Filterpatenschaften in Tansania gesammelt. So konnten bereits 1.200 Schulen/Schulkinder mit sauberem Trinkwasser versorgt werden. Dabei werden die Wasserfilter jedoch nicht einfach an die Schulen ausgeliefert, sondern die Waterpreneure veranstalten einen Workshop, bei dem das nötige Wissen zur Nutzung, Pflege und Wirkungsweise des Filters vermittelt wird. Hiermit bedanken wir uns sehr herzlich bei allen Filterpaten für Ihre Unterstützung!

Unsere Vision ist es, Menschen zu unternehmerischen Handeln zu befähigen, um sich und anderen den Zugang zu sauberem Trinkwasser zu ermöglichen.

Unsere starken Partner



UNSERE
ZUKUNFTSPLÄNE


Im nächsten Schritt soll unser Pilotprojekt als Vorbild für den Aufbau eines weiteren Standorts dienen. Mit diesem verfolgen wir das Ziel, unsere Reichweite in Tansania zu erhöhen, um mehr Menschen mit sauberem Trinkwasser zu versorgen. Gleichzeitig soll ein Konzept erarbeitet werden, mit dem der Aufbau von neuen Standorten innerhalb kürzester Zeit ablaufen kann, um in einem dritten Schritt auch über die Grenzen von Tansania hinaus Menschen den Zugang zu sauberem Trinkwasser ermöglichen zu können.

Lass uns jetzt gemeinsam helfen!


DAS GESCHÄFTSMODELL


Ziel unseres Projektes ist es, dass es wirtschaftlich tragfähig ist und somit eine nachhaltige Wirkung erzielt. Das Projekt ist ab 30 Filterverkäufen im Monat selbstragend, da zwei Waterpreneure so ein mittelständiges Einkommen verdienen und geringe Rücklagen für außerreguläre Ausgaben entstehen. Um diese Verkäufe zu generieren, ist neben der Aufklärungsarbeit der langfristige Kontakt zu bestehenden Kunden wichtig, denn überzeugte und zufriedene Kunden können als Multiplikatoren fungieren. Darüber hinaus ist es wichtig Kunden an den Ablauf der zweijährigen Wirkungsgarantie des Filters zu erinnern. Somit wird die Qualität des gefilterten Wassers langfristig sichergestellt und Folgekäufe generiert.


EINE EINFACHE RECHNUNG


Wer keinen Wasserfilter besitzt, muss auf monetär und ressourcentechnisch wesentlich aufwendigere Methoden, wie zum Beispiel das Abkochen von Wasser, zurückgreifen. Hierbei entstehen in einem Zweijahreszeitraum kosten in Höhe von 1.095.000 TZS. Nutzt man im Vergleich dazu einen Wasserfilter, dessen Anschaffung 60.000 TZS kostet, spart eine Familie 95 %. Wird der Wasserfilter zwei Jahre lang genutzt, so kostet er pro Monat umgerechnet 1 €.


DAS RATENZAHLUNGSMODELL


Damit der Preis keine Hürde für den Zugang zu sauberem Trinkwasser darstellt, bieten die Waterpreneure ein Ratenzahlungsmodell an. Hierbei wird der Wasserfilter über 3-6 Monate abbezahlt. Um das finanzielle Risiko für die Waterpreneure zu minimieren, kooperieren wir mit lokalen Banken wie VICOBA und SACCOs, die Mikrokredite für Betroffene anbieten. Zudem ist es möglich, dass der Arbeitgeber, wie bspw. Schulen, eine Bürgschaft für die Ratenzahlung übernimmt.


DER STANDORT


Der erste Standort wurde 2015 in Kigoma, Tansania, eröffnet. Kigoma ist eine Stadt mit circa 150.000 Einwohnern und liegt am Ufer des Tanganjikasees.

Dort klagen besonders viele Menschen über die Folgen von verunreinigtem Wasser, wie Durchfall, Typhus und sogar das tödliche Cholera. Die meisten Menschen vor Ort beziehen ihr Wasser aus einer Quelle, die komplett überbevölkert ist. Mit Hilfe von 20 Liter Eimern tragen sie anschließend das Wasser nach Hause, wo es zum Teil mehrere Stunden ungeschützt steht, bevor es verbraucht wird. Das bietet eine passende Umgebung für Bakterien, um sich zu vermehren. Durch den Gebrauch unseres Filters kurz vor der Nutzung des Wassers werden diese herausgefiltert und das Wasser ist sauber und sicher.

Auf dem Gelände der Organisation MIBOS werden die Filter von unseren Waterpreneuren produziert. Dort hat das Waterfilter Team aus Deutschland eine Filterproduktionsstätte mit allen für die Filterproduktion nötigen Maschinen aufgebaut. Unter anderem wurde ein Ofen aus Ziegelsteinen und Lehm erbaut,  der bis zu 80 Filter fasst. 

Neben der Produktionsstätte befindet sich auf dem Gelände auch der Waterfilter Shop, in dem der Wasserfilter erworben werden kann. 

Wer wir sind


UNSER TEAM

Wir sind ein Team aus engagierten Münchener Studenten mit unterschiedlichen Studienfachrichtungen. Unser Ziel ist es, Menschen durch einen nachhaltigen, unternehmerischen Ansatz zu einem besseren Leben zu verhelfen und somit langfristig die Welt zu verbessern. 

Unsere unterstützenden Sponsoren


 Ulrich Habel